Skip to content

Gluten-free Blueberry & Strawberry Oatmeal Muffins

April 19, 2013

I am stressed out, so I made muffins. Drew inspiration from this post over here.

20130419_203411

Ingredients:

DRY:
1 and 1/4 cups flour:

–1/2 cup quinoa
–1/2 cup sorghum
–1/4 cup brown rice

3/4 cup of gluten-free oats (these are expensive shiz but I got a bag from my mom. Hi Mom! Thanks!)

3/4 cup sugar
4/5 tsp xanthan gum (I was lazy and just kinda used a bit less than a tsp, measuring by sight)
1/2 tsp salt
1.5 tsp baking powder

WET:
-2 eggs
-1/2 cup soy milk (or whatever)
-1/3 cup canola oil
-1 tsp vanilla extract

-handful of blueberries
-handful of chopped strawberries

Okay, the ingredients list is daunting, but stay with me here. Preheat the oven to 375F, and either grease up or line with paper cups two muffin tins. This makes a baker’s dozen.

You’ll want to mix the wet in a large mixing bowl, and the dry in a medium one. Add the dry to the wet and mix it in, but stop halfway. Add in the blueberries and strawberries, then fold it all together. The mix will be pretty thick; just make sure it’s all wet.

Plop it into the muffin tins – fill them about 1/3 of the way, then stick it all in the oven. You’ll want to bake it for ten minutes, then rotate the pans, then bake for another ten minutes. This worked PERFECTLY in my oven but since all ovens are special snowflakes, you might wanna adjust for time. Do the tooth-pick test on them.

20130419_203051

These were super easy; I made them with stuff I have sitting in my cupboards. The berries were kind of the dregs of stuff I’d been eating all week and weren’t looking too great, so they worked perfectly in these muffins. The cleanup was also pretty quick. The strawberries I used are unnaturally sweet for strawberries that tout themselves as organic at this time of year, but besides that deep suspicion rooting itself in my brain, I can confidently say these muffins are SO DELICIOUS. And they took like, maybe half an hour.

20130419_204835

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2013 11:01 am

    Your bake looks amazing! I love it! =D

    • April 20, 2013 2:28 pm

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

