Skip to content

Cocoa and Cinnamon Mochi

October 27, 2012

Hello again, all! I wrote this like two weeks ago and I’m only now getting around to posting it because October has been a beast: our treat tonight is mochi, something I developed an addiction to in Japan, but the Canadian grocery store offering tastes like the back end of a horse so I’ve decided to make my own, not unlike a desperate meth addict. Pretend I didn’t type that last clause.

Youtube is a constant source of wonder and amazement to me, and this afternoon it delivered unto me a recipe for mochi, complete with a link to the written recipe instructions at Miki’s Pantry. Surprise: they are super easy to make! But I have actually never gone out and bought matcha before, and though I saw it everywhere in stores in Japan and could get it easily, in Canada it’s a different story, and this is a blog about food and allergies and being a very lazy person, so clearly I substituted. The results were just as delicious, if not as authentic.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups of glutinous*/sweet rice flour – plain white rice flour is not gonna cut it
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • cocoa and cinnamon, to taste

Put the rice flour, sugar, and water into a microwaveable bowl and mix until it’s all completely dissolved into each other. Then, cover the bowl with saran wrap and pop it in the microwave. Now, Miki made hers in a 900 watt microwave; mine’s something ridic like 1300, so I adjusted the timing accordingly – the original instructions say to micro on high for 9 minutes, and I put mine in for about 6 minutes.

Take the mochi out of the microwave and let it cool for about 15 minutes. I took the saran wrap off – and it was still super hot after 15 minutes so uh, be careful I guess. You may wanna wait for about 20 minutes instead depending on your heat tolerance. Loosen the edges and place the mochi on top of a floured surface – I just used some more glutinous rice flour. Knead it til it’s flat and long, then cut it into pieces – ten should do. Then, roll each piece up, and roll it in the flavouring of your choice.

Serve it on a little plate for maximum kawaii; they’re super delicious, and the sweetness is very delicate. Otsukaresama deshita; you’ve just made mochi.

*”Glutinous” = sticky consistency as opposed to “glutenous”, which = death

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2013 3:39 am

    Interesting recipe you have here. Thank you for adding a link to my website. I appreciate it a lot. Keep cookin’, girl! 😉

Leave a Reply

