Skip to content

One-person Pork Chop with Apples and Onions

October 23, 2012

Greetings, earthlings. The weather is cold again; let’s continue. So this is a Martha Stewart recipe I adapted, and you may insert the obligatory prison joke here, but lady knows what she’s doing (though it kept making the fire alarm go off so maybe not so much? Whatevs.) This was originally for 6 chops with the bone in, and I don’t think I did a bad job adapting, if I say so myself.

Ingredients:

  • 1 boneless pork chop
  • salt and black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil or vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • half and onion, sliced
  • 1 apple, cored and sliced (about 3 cups)
  • 1/8 cup beer, white wine, cider, or chicken broth – if you’re me and don’t have any of those, you’ll substitute a water and apple cider vinegar mix

First off, you’re gonna want to heat a cast-iron skillet up – I did this to full heat and it got all burny and made my fire alarm pee its pants, so maybe instead err on the side of medium-high. Add the oil and let it heat up. While that’s going on, trim the excess fat from your pork chop (unless you like it; I’m not your mom, you don’t have to), and cover both sides with salt and pepper. Add it to the pan and brown it on both sides: Martha says this takes about ten minutes, but since she also told me to heat my pan crazy high, it took about five for me. Once the chop’s browned, store it on a plate.

Add the butter, then the chopped apple and onion, which of course you prepped while the chop was browning. Let it go about 5-8 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onion’s caramelized and the apple’s soft. Add your liquid and put the chop back in and simmer it all together about 15 minutes or until the pork is fully cooked. Don’t forget to turn it once so both sides get the good appley-oniony taste in.

Martha says to serve it over rice or mashed potatoes; I served it over corn pasta. It is so extremely delicious you guys – I may just fry my apples in butter with onions from now on. My pork’s a little over-done in places; I blame the super-high heat at first, which is also the culprit in the fact that my onions taste a tad burny, but I don’t even care because the rest is so delicious. Also it took me a grand total of half an hour to make from start to finish and is a perfect one-person portion. Definitely doing this again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. celiacandallergyadventures permalink
    October 23, 2012 7:49 pm

    This sounds so good and perfect for the autumn weather! And yay, gluten-free!

  2. October 23, 2012 7:49 pm

    Mmm 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pork Medallions in Riesling Sauce | lasesana

Leave a Reply

