Skip to content

Cottage Pie

April 21, 2012

Cottage pie is much like shepherd’s pie, in that it is a mix of varied vegetables and ground meat topped with potato, and then baked. Except that apparently cottages own cows, because the only difference between the two is that the one uses ground beef, and the other ground sheep.

Mutton. I make cooking delicious!

Anyway, that’s what’s on the lunch menu for this week, since I had some ground beef in the freezer, potatoes were on special, and I had a random assortment of veggies as well. My mother always used to make this; the internet informs me that it is apparently a British food, which would explain my confusion as to why all the British pubs around here have it on the menu. Mystery solved!

I always just thought of cottage/shepherd’s pie as farmer food, no specific nationality attached; perhaps just Canadian. I think, given the random assortment of foodstuffs I’ve managed to fit into the recipe, that last epithet fits best.

COMMENCE RECIPE.

Ingredients:

-1 onion
-3 cloves garlic
-1.5 cups ground meat
-1.5 large carrots, sliced
-salt, pepper, rosemary, basil to taste
-1.5 peppers (I used half an orange, red, and yellow myself)
-1 tomato
-0.5 cup green beans
-one bag of PC mini potatoes
-butter

Boil the potatoes until soft, then mash with butter and set aside. You can get started on the frying while waiting for the potatoes: heat oil in a pan on medium-low heat, then add garlic and onion. Add the ground beef and sliced carrot and cook the beef thoroughly, adding the spices according to your taste. Once that’s done, you can add the peppers, the beans and the tomato – a few recipes I saw called for either tomato paste or ketchup, but I figured this would do.

I don't even think red, yellow, and orange peppers taste all that different from one another... they just look pretty.

Fry all of that loveliness together until it’s all seen the bottom of the pan at least once or twice, then scoop it into a waiting glass casserole dish. I am unclear as to whether it really needs to be glass: I just like seeing the meat mix through the side. Spread the mashed potatoes evenly on top, and crosshatch it if you want to be fancy.

I probably should have told you to preheat the oven to 375F; do that now. If you skipped down to read this first before the above instructions, congratulations! You are a fast reader; unfortunately, this means you will probably miss something going along. Good thing this blog’s not one of them fancy recipe sites. Then you’d be screwed.

Bake your pie(s) for about 45 minutes, or until the potato gets browned and crispy on any edges. Let it cool for a while before scooping it out to enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

