Skip to content

Fried greens (and browns… and whites…)

April 16, 2012

Ever have one of those moments where you taste what you’re cooking and you think “Mmmm, asparagus!” and then, after a disgusted pause, your inner child goes “…What?!“?

"Mushrooms, too? Who ARE you?!"

In the continuing saga of “Ariel fries everything before eating it”, I fried mushrooms and potatoes and asparagus and then ate it. And it was delicious.

Basically the trick to doing this is knowing how fast things tend to cook. I kept the pan on medium-low to keep things from burning, and started off with the potatoes. I added the asparagus like three minutes later because I was super hungry, then kept stirring it about so that they would get maximum pan exposure. I put a lid on it for a while too, actually, to cook them a bit more.

"This is still everything you hated when you were a kid. Except for the potatoes. They're cool."

I added the mushrooms right at the last, since they’re fulla water and tend to go fast. For seasonings, I only used the veggie oil in the pan (not an undue amount, either; as much as I would use for an egg, really), salt, and pepper.

It was super delicious and amazing and my inner child can just shut up, because I guess at 25 I’m grown up enough to be boring and enjoy eating icky vegetables.

The potatoes taste kinda like fries so they're extra delicious.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 10:20 am

    I’m adding asparagus to my grocery list!

Leave a Reply

