Skip to content

Five-minute marinade for chicken (it is also gluten-free)

March 24, 2012

I love marinading meat: it’s an easy way to make that giant bag of frozen boneless skinless chicken thighs a little less of a chore to get through, while still maximizing your protein intake and not being super-unhealthy.

The problem with marinades is that they can take FOREVER and I am an instant-gratification girl when it comes to food. A lot of times, I don’t have the foresight to marinate something the day before – or even the morning before – I will eventually consume it. As well, one of my old marinade staples was soy sauce, which is made with wheat and so is now persona non grata among the condiments in my cupboard.

Necessity is the mother of invention : my hunger is the mother of this blog concept, so let’s get down to the tasty details, shall we?

Ingredients:

-3 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, thawed
-1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
-rosemary
-salt
-basil

-rice

Heat your oven to 400 Fahrenheit (or use a toaster oven, like I did). Make yourself a pot o’ rice to eat your soon-to-be delicious chicken over.

Put the chicken thighs in a bowl, then add the balsamic vinegar, and rosemary, salt, and basil at your discretion (I used about a tsp of each, to hazard a guess). Using a fork, move the chicken around so that the vinegar and spices are coating each side evenly.

Place the chicken in the middle of a greased sheet of tinfoil, and wrap the tinfoil up so that it forms a tinfoil baggie. Stick aforementioned baggie on a cookie sheet or similar, and pop it into the (toaster) oven for 25-30 minutes or until the juices run clear. Then, scoop some rice into a bowl, cut up the chicken, and put that chicken on top of the rice for optimal enjoyment.

The tanginess of the marinade is perfect to enhance the flavour of the chicken.

Now, I say 30 minutes, but in reality it took me like an hour to get this cooked since I started out at too low a heat and didn’t wait for the oven to heat up beforehand. Quit judging me; I was reading The Tiger by John Vaillant and thus slightly distracted. Anyway it turned out awesome so that doesn’t matter. Just use common sense and use the oven like a normal person and I’m sure it’ll turn out fine.

Which mine did, eventually. The tinfoil keeps all the juices from escaping, so the chicken ends up really tender and not dry at all, and plus you get some marinadey chicken juice to ladle over your rice and give it flavour.

In a perfect world, I would have some veggies or at least green things to eat alongside this; in a perfect world, I would not have already eaten the salad I made while waiting for the chicken to be done cooking and thus didn’t get a picture of them side-by-side. Or at all. It’s a salad; just pretend it’s there. Kind of like how I pretend it’s food.

Until next time, then!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

