Skip to content

Gluten-free Noodle Pudding (Noodle Kugel)

March 13, 2012

Hey folks, long time no chit-chat or chow! I’ve been resting on my laurels for a bit as my college had its March Break and I went home to eat the yummy gluten-free food my family provides. Here’s a recipe my mom made a long time ago, back in days of yore when I didn’t even know that gluten was a word!

Have you ever read Grandma and the Pirates by Phoebe Gilman? If you have, then you will understand why, as I was concocting this, there were a bunch of pirates chanting in my head.

Heave-ho, yum yum! We smell noodles, we want some!

Ingredients:

-2 cups gluten-free noodles
-1 McIntosh apple
-2 eggs, beaten
-cinnamon to taste
-1/4 cup rice or whatever milk
-1/4 cup brown sugar
-2 tsp honey

Alright, I put this together while I was still in the grip of a terrible fever, so my memory’s a bit fuzzy – bear with me; all shall be rewarded with deliciousness in due course. First, turn your oven to 350F and boil up your noodles on the stovetop.

While that’s going on, grease a deep-er baking dish (I believe mine was a glass 9×11), and chop that McIntosh apple into bite-size chunks. Beat the eggs in a large bowl, add the milk and honey.

Drain your noodles once finished and put them into the bowl with the egg mixture, and mix it up to thoroughly coat the noodles. Then, add the sugar, cinnamon, and apples. You can adjust the sugar and cinnamon to taste if you like! Put the lot into the greased baking pan and pop the works into the oven. Let it stay in there for about 40 minutes, then when the egg and milk mixture has solidified and the noodles have just begun to brown on top, take it out and let it cool.

Dessert for dinner is very legit if you are dying of plague.

Once it’s cooled enough, you can take a spoon and get yourself some – the noodles and egg mixture should have baked into a fairly solid, cake-like mass of yumminess, and the apples will have softened enough that they’ll be about the same consistency as the noodles, full of tartness still. This is basically what the dish in my last post turns into when it is an adult/fully evolved Pokemon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

