Skip to content

Gluten-free pasta with coconut-chicken sauce

February 18, 2012

Last Sunday, my streetcar short-turned about three stops away from where I usually get off, which was right in front of the ambiguously Asian grocery store in my area, which purports to be a tiny Chinatown of sorts, but really has a lot of Chinese, Thai, some Korean, and some Viet influences (and probably more). Anyhow, I picked up a can of coconut milk, and thus began this dinner saga.

I am so alternative you guys.

I’d never tried this before, and the internet sucks at giving me suggestions for what to eat (it’s always either too spicy, too complicated, too expensive, or too gross-looking), so I decided to make this thing up as I went. The wonderful thing about cooking things for yourself is that you are the only one who has to deal with it when it doesn’t turn out like the perfect feast laid out before Zeus himself or whatever. Things don’t turn out right; I can deal. Luckily this turned out amazingly, so I am completely validated by this experience.

Previously, I had picked up gluten-free pasta at No Frills and needed some sauce to go over it. However, since my insides have been summarily destroyed by all the gluten-eating I’ve done in the past, ingesting most permutations of tomato tend to make it feel like I’ve swallowed live coals. Thus my alternative: a coconut-based sauce! Perfect! Tasty! Something I have never done before!

What you need:

-1 chicken breast, de-boned
-2 cups of gluten-free pasta

Sauce ingredients:

-1 can of coconut milk
-1/2 tablespoon of sugar
-1 tablespoon tapioca flour
-a pinch of salt

First, take your chicken breast and de-bone it if it’s not already boneless. Wrap in oiled tinfoil and bake in toaster oven (or real oven) at 400 degrees for twenty minutes, or until done. The tinfoil should keep the juices in. Take the chicken out and let it cool.

Like so.

Begin cooking the pasta.

In the meanwhile, combine the sauce ingredients in a pan and cook at medium heat, stirring occasionally. Chop up the chicken and add it to the sauce.

Once the pasta is done, ladle the sauce over the pasta, add salt to your taste, and then consume. It’s a weird combination of sweet and salty, but it tastes quite good – if, like me, you’re not used to coconut sauce, it might make your brain send confused signals for a while – if a bit bland. Again, due to the destroyed insides, I don’t tolerate spice too well (plus it burns my face off), but I hear on the grapevine that adding paprika or chili to such a recipe can make it taste amazing to people who are not me.

All in all, this was an experiment that turned out really well, and I’ll definitely have to try it again!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

