Skip to content

Easy DIY London Fog (milk-free, soy-free)

February 8, 2012

Move over, Starbucks, for I have divined the secret way to make delicious tea lattes without milk OR soy OR spending like a billion dollars. It’s sweet, creamy, caffeinated, and very satisfying – best of all, you can tailor it to your dietary needs and/or gourmet drink preferences.

What you need:

-1 mug’s worth of rice milk (or milk, soy milk, almond milk, whatever)
-An Earl Grey tea bag (or loose leaf in a ball)
-boiling water
-vanilla extract
-awesomeness (this will appear once you’ve started the recipe, so don’t worry about going out and looking for it)

First, I put the rice milk in a pan on the stove, with the element set to medium-high; enough to warm it up, but I didn’t let it out-and-out boil. Then, I put the Earl Grey into the pan once the milk has started to heat up, and keep it in there, about 7 minutes. During this time, I added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (you can measure up or down depending on your feelings towards vanilla).

Once the 7 minutes were up and the rice milk was looking nice and steeped, I boiled some water in my kettle, took the Earl Grey out of the pan and put it into my mug. I filled the mug about 1/3 of the way with boiling water, and filled it up the rest of the way with the rice-milk-and-vanilla mixture.

Keep the bag in until it’s strong enough for you (or perhaps it already is and you can just discard the bag after pouring the water over it), and add sweetener of your choice. I used brown sugar.

And ta-da, you have a gourmet tea latte! It took less than ten minutes, and I was totally in control of how much vanilla I wanted, the milk-to-water ratio, not to mention how steeped it was. Next time, I think I’m going to try foaming the milk a bit so it’s like a true Second-Cup-style treat!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

