Skip to content

PB+B: Banana bread edition

February 5, 2012

Both gluten-free and sugar-free, because I’m on a roll. This is probably the weirdest, most random recipe for banana bread ever. It’s kind of like stone soup, but in a loaf pan; most of the ingredients I had to substitute for, I completely messed up the baking time, and it still turned out glorious.

Check that sexy bread.

Ingredients:

1 cup brown rice flour
1/3 cup buckwheat flour
2/3 cup all-purpose gluten-free flour*
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
dash salt

2 bananas, mashed
1.5 tsp artificial vanilla extract
1 spoon peanut butter
3 small spoons yogurt + 1 cup water
3 tsp honey

some cinnamon to sprinkle on top

First, what I did was mix all the dry ingredients together in one bowl, and all the wet ingredients in another, slightly larger bowl. I had a bit of a problem with the wet ingredients, since I couldn’t find the REAL AND TRUE vanilla extract so I had to use artificial (which I suspect is made from something heinous like cocker spaniel toenails), and then the yogurt-in-water trick because my soy milk had gone all nasty and chunky.

I decided to sweeten it with honey because yay, no refined sugar or whatever. I definitely needed twice that amount because I skimped on bananas and should have added three to get the desired banananosity and sweetness of this bread.

I preheated the oven to 350 F, combined the wet and the dry ingredients in one bowl, spooned it into a loaf pan that was greased AND dusted with tapioca starch (I am so friggin’ fancy, look at me go), dusted the top with cinnamon, and then stuck it in the oven.

Bear in mind that the last time I made banana bread, I was in Japan and I was using a rice cooker, which requires about half the amount of moisture. So after about 15 minutes the outside of the loaf was baking nicely (and indeed starting to crisp a bit on the edges), and the inside was still just a pile of goo. I turned the heat down to 250 F and left it in for about 45 minutes, checking on it periodically.

Once the toothpick finally came out clean, I tried to get the darn thing out of the pan so it could cool but it was so not going anywhere, so I just let it cool in the pan and nothing catastrophic happened. Yay me for exercising good judgement because it totes came out fine after that, even though I had to use a spatula to jimmy it out.

Kind of looks like I slaughtered a hamster on top there, but it's really strawberry jam

The banana bread IS banana bread – albeit sticky. I’m not sure if this is because of the peanut butter (which I can just faintly taste in the bread), or because of my leet oven skillz rending it ever-so-slightly undercooked, but I’m pretty fine with it.

The only thing I regret is not adding one more banana, to up the fruit-to-flour ratio; as it is, it’s just not as banana-y as banana bread should be. But otherwise it is moist and delectable, and tastes very good when toasted with butter and jam on top. I am chalking this one up as a win. A tasty, tasty win.

 

*I originally had no idea what this flour was, just that it was from the Bulk Barn and that it was gluten-free. Always label your flours, people.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2012 2:10 pm

    Lookin’ good!
    Loved the part where you said it looks like a murdered hamster.
    LOL.

    • February 6, 2012 1:00 pm

      I write only the most appealing copy 😉

Leave a Reply

