Skip to content

Omuraisu for your soul

January 21, 2012

So the other day I ended up making rice and using spinach, and guess what I have nooow? If you guessed indigestion, you are WRONG for it is leftovers of which I speak. Many leftovers. Continuing on the theme of my last post, let me introduce you to a li’l something I loved to eat in Japan: omuraisu! It is pretty much exactly what it sounds like.

Perhaps the egg + rice combo sounds strange to you. Even… foreign. Well bam, that’s because it is! I honestly don’t know why sushi has taken off so dramatically in North America and yet I can’t find a single restaurant that will make me a dece plate of omuraisu. So I make it myself. Good thing the only cooking lesson I ever took taught me how to make this meal specifically. I mean, it was all in Japanese but I got the gist of it.

Not shown: the key ingredient. It's untranslateable.

Just kidding, it’s tomato sauce. At least, in this variation of omuraisu.

So, first, gather all the stuff you’re gonna need to make a bangin’ spinach and tomato-sauce omuraisu:

-1 egg
1 cup of soy milk (or whatever kind of milk you choose to ingest)
1/4 bunch of spinach
1/5 of an onion
2 cups of riiiiiiice (leftover – if you don’t have any yet, cook it. It’s better with freshly-cooked rice anyway)
1-1.5 cups of tomato sauce (mine’s like, zesty basil or something, so I didn’t even need spices, woo)
(a few) dash(es) of salt

Kay. Firsties, rinse the spinach and let it drain; fill a pan of water and put it on the stove on high. While you’re waiting, chop up that onion and stick it in a frying pan set on medium-low. I’m just making this for one person, so I used up maybe 1/5 of a whole onion, because while I like the flavour, I don’t really feel the need to put a ring on it.

Once the water in the spinach-pan boils, stick the spinach in there (I used like a quarter of the ginormous bunch I bought) and keep it simmering. Plop about a cup to half a cup of tomato sauce in the pan with the onion and stir it around – you can adjust up or down to how tomatoey you like things to be. Then, scoop half of the sauce + onion into a small pot, and put that on another burner on the stove on low and just let it chill there for a bit.

Your spinach by this time should be nice and cooked; drain it, then add 3/4 of it to the frying pan and stir it around. Now add the rice and mix it in with the sauce; put in a dash of salt. Once it’s heated through, you can put it on a plate and shape it into a small but delectable hill.

"This once was the great watchtower of Amon Sul"

Now it’s time for some eggy business. Heat up a non-stick frying pan to medium-low heat (and put some veggie oil in there, son – I don’t care if it says “non-stick”; this is important!). While that’s happening, mix up your egg and soy milk, and add a bit of salt. Once the pan is hot enough to make water sizzle, pour the egg mixture in, and make sure it doesn’t all run to one side of the pan because your element is geriatric and lopsided like mine.

As the egg slowly cooks, take chopsticks and gently run them from the outside of the pan to the centre, filling in the lines with the egg that’s still uncooked on the top. Keep doing this until there’s no more runny, uncooked egg mixture.

Here comes the tricky part. Did you put the vegetable oil in the pan? You didn’t, did you. Well, that’s okay, because it turns out that I didn’t put enough in there, so my egg was also a ruined, ripped mess that didn’t come out of the pan well, just like yours! The idea is that you take the pan and sliiiiide that egg out over Weathertop the rice mixture. Then you spread the rest of the sauce out beside the omuraisu and put the leftover spinach beside it for a pleasing aesthetic, and bingbangboom you have your awesome Japanese concoction.

All that's missing is some nice, crispy bacon.

Seriously, it is like, the young-person food. All the cool twentysomethings in my city were always eating omuraisu, and hey, why not? It’s super delicious, probably healthier than a Big Mac, and the best thing is, it is infinitely customizable. My friend and I once visited an omuraisu restaurant with over 50 different kinds of omuraisu on the menu, ranging from the very basic tomato sauce one I made here, demiglace, white cream sauce + asparagus, to steak and bbq omuraisu. That was expensive.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 10:30 pm

    Love the new banner!

    • January 21, 2012 10:36 pm

      Meeeee too!

Trackbacks

  1. Omuraisu pan | Zukklish

Leave a Reply

