Skip to content

Japanese Denny’s Plate + burny fingers

January 19, 2012

Some of you may know that I spent most of the last year and a bit in Japan, teaching English and being the coolest gaijin on the block (not). I also spent a lot of time eating, because all food in Japan is sprinkled with the finest ground essence of pure cocaine; it is delicious to the MAX, and I made the tranformation into avid gastronomical tourist pretty quickly.
 
One of the less amazing (but still pretty great) places was Denny’s, which I frequented while studying Japanese. I think I ended up with more knowledge of the menu than if-clauses, but guess which one has served me better in the long run?

I could have been bilingual...

Swap out those genoa salami pieces (on sale at No Frills for $2 a package!) with sausages, and you’ve got pretty much what I ordered all the time at Denny’s. Note the fried spinach. I am very proud of getting those vegetables, and on sale, too – what you do is boil ’em ’til they’re soft, drain, then fry them up in a pan with salt and pepper (and bacon bits, if you have them). The rest is fairly simple – meat (salami or sausage of some sort), a fried egg (I am addicted to over-easy but it’s best if it’s sunny-side-up; then you get the runny yolk and it’s scrumptious), and some Japanese rice* on the side for your carbs, otherwise you’ll be hungry like half an hour after making this. Ta-da! Dinner! …or in my case, lunch!

It’s delicious – I always go for the spinach first, because it’s full of flavour and saltiness (even though you need to put relatively little salt on it, actually). I try to keep the egg’s yolk as runny as possible, because rice + egg is an amazing combo and I really don’t know why I don’t eat it more often. Genoa salami is a great compliment to the rest of the meal, slightly sweet, salty, and spicy all at the same time.

Of course I make a whole lot more rice and keep it in the fridge for later, but there’s not much else left over, except for dishes, of course.

And now allow me to tell you a quirky story full of my own foibles and an object lesson. I burned my fingers on a cast-iron skillet whilst making this meal, and it sucked. So much. Never trust old stoves with elements that are confusingly placed so that you end up heating up the one in front of the one that the rice is on. And then thinking it would be a great idea to move the heavy skillet off of it to make some more room. I would upload a picture, but this is a food blog and I’d rather not put you off your delicious, gluten-free fare.

Until next time!

 

 

*Full disclosure: Japanese short grain/sticky rice is the only kind of rice I truly like. If I’m served other sorts of rice, of course I eat it to be polite, and may even enjoy it with the right topping sometimes, but usually it may as well be shredded cardboard.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 10:26 pm

    Mmmm sausage 🙂

    • January 20, 2012 12:23 am

      Yeah it’s kind of expensive at the store, and sometimes has ninja gluten in it, which is no fun. Next time there’s a sale, though…

  2. Megan Patterson permalink
    January 19, 2012 10:29 pm

    My sister and I never went to the Japanese Denny’s when we were in Japan, although it looked better than here Denny’s (which is awful). We DID go to Japanese Subway constantly though, and it was awesome because the sis is vegetarian and they have so many more veggie friendly stuff there!! And the potato thingies!!! And melon soda!

    • January 20, 2012 12:25 am

      Omnom melon sodaaa. It was my littlest sister’s fav. drink there, lol.

      Yeah, Japanese Denny’s is… healthy? And non-breakfast-oriented. Can be a little confusing at first, but it quickly became a favourite spot of mine. I never went to the Subway in Nagoya for obvious reasons but I used to pass it all the time – mmm, torturously delicious Subway smell: it’s the same the world over.

Trackbacks

  1. Japanese Denny's Plate + burny fingers « Gluten Free on a Dime | TEFL Japan
  2. Omuraisu for your soul « Gluten Free on a Dime

Leave a Reply

