Skip to content

Apple & Cinnamon Muffins

January 17, 2012

Last week, the cafeteria had a 2-for-1 muffin sale, and I was craving warm, muffiny goodness. Also, I needed a good breakfast food that’s not too crunchy (my jaw has been throwing a tantrum the last couple of days, so goodbye carrots and etc – yeah, this is still happening), yet also something I could make easily with the ingredients I have on hand.

The solution is deliciousness.

I had leftover buckwheat flour from the yummy holiday taai taai experiment, and a bunch of apples lying around, inedible and neglected, plus a cupboard full of spices. “To work!” Quoth I, and so began to cast around for inspiration; often, my baking ventures consist of my finding the perfect recipe online and trying to follow it, making substitutions for the tricksier ingredients (blanched almond flour? …sure, let me just get that out of my cupboard). This particular fusion is brought to you by the Gluten Free Goddess’s Cinnamon Apple Muffins plus whatever I had lying around/in my fridge. Recipe under the cut!

Dry Ingredients:

3/4 cup buckwheat flour

1/4 cup tapioca starch

1 tbsp (about) spelt flour, plus enough brown rice flour to make 1/2 cup.*

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp baking soda

1.5 tsp baking powder

1 tsp allspice (or, if you are like myself and lack this ingredient, use a dash of nutmeg and a few crumbled cloves instead)

*You can just use 1/2 cup of brown rice flour; I had about a tablespoon of spelt flour left in my baking box and wanted to use it up; it is not super important to the outcome of this recipe.

Wet Ingredients:

1 snack cup’s worth of unsweetened applesauce (so, like, probably about half a cup, according to a friend of mine)

2 eggs

1/3 cup olive oil

1 cup brown sugar

4 tbsp low-fat soy milk

PLUS

1 apple, sliced and diced

Like this.

Whisk together the dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, combine the wet ingredients plus the brown sugar. This took me ages because my brown sugar has gone all lumpy, and I spent a good amount of time chasing lumps around the mixture and squashing them against the edge of the bowl until they melted. DISINTEGRATE —> ASSIMILATE.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ones, and then add the chopped-up apple. Spoon the mixture into greased muffin cups – I filled 15, though the original recipe says 12. Also, note to self: buy paper muffin cups. So much easier than greasing the silly metal sheets. With vegetable oil. And wax paper to spread it around. My life is so glamorous.

Bake the muffins for about 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let them cool for a few minutes in the pan, then cool them down completely on a wire rack. This recipe made 15 oddly-shaped muffins, which are quite dense and moist. The cinnamon and nutmeg compliment the warm sweetness of the apples and the pieces of fruit are soft and juicy – I may eat all of these before I have a chance to store them…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

