Skip to content

PB+B: Pancake edition

January 27, 2012

Peanut butter and banana: not just for delicious sandwiches any more!

So I have nothing really that healthy left in the house besides some cheese and crackers, but I refuse to do groceries because if I starve, then I will have more money to… hoard. I think I may have a Smaug-shaped problem.

HOWEVER pb+b is like my favourite combo in existence ever, so while I really didn’t want to be all unhealthy and have pancakes for dinner (a habit of mine in Japan), I also kind of wanted to try this to see if it would work.

Yes I am having pancakes for dinner, and no you are not allowed to judge me, because at some point in your life, YOU HAVE TOO.

Also, credit where credit is due: I smooshed together two recipes from this post on FitBlogger and this one over at Easy Natural Food. Thanks, peeps! You have made my dinner much more awesome!

What you will need:

-1 banana (the riper the better!)
– 1 spoon of peanut butter (I use the just-peanuts stuff, so there’s nothing in there besides the nuts)
-1 egg

-1 dinner spoon tapioca flour
-1 dinner spoon brown rice flour
-1 dinner spoon white rice flour
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-dash salt

Mash ye banana with ye fork. Add ye peanut buttre – if you refrigerate said buttre, microwave iytte! Adde ye egg and mykks.

(The previous paragraph seems to have come down with Chaucer’s disease. My apologies.)

Heat up a medium-sized skillet to medium, and add some veggie oil. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients together, then add them to the wet and mix ’em all up.

After that, use the age-old tradition of scooping the mix into the heated pan (I used two spoonfuls), then flipping when the bottom is cooked. As far as gluten-free pancakes go, these are by far some of the most flippable, plus they’re spongy and super-soft. I don’t think you understand how much I appreciate that; GF pancakes, in my experience, tend to turn out crispy or rubbery about eight times out of ten.

Behold my success.

The best part about this whole thing is that the banana is so naturally sweet that you don’t need to add sugar to the batter, and the pancake still comes out super-sweet, with the nuttiness (and a bit of the stickiness) of the peanut butter. I didn’t even put anything on them, just ate them straight off of the plate while they were still steaming.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 10:43 pm

    Yay! Looks tasty! I don’t my recipes being “smooshed” around a little if the result comes out to your liking 🙂 Those sure are some good looking pancakes!

    • January 29, 2012 2:15 pm

      Thanks! I draw my inspiration from all the lovely people posting gf recipes on the interwebs, and I admit that I would be lost without them, so thank you!

  2. May 4, 2018 10:58 am

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is extremely helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. May 17, 2018 3:06 am

    Hello there I am so happy I found your website, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was browsing on Digg
    for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at
    the minute but I have saved it and also added
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

Trackbacks

  1. Taai Taai Pancakes (Anise + Almond) « Gluten Free on a Dime
  2. Gluten-free Apple-Cinnamon Teff Pancakes | Gluten Free on a Dime

Leave a comment